Skip to content

The last splurge of 2012 –gooey cheesy Muttabak

December 31, 2011

Hello friends…

I want to thank you all so much for joining me on my culinary journeys, and as a thank you for subscribing to my page, I will share one of my most precious dessert recipes: Muttabak. I am warning you that this is not a lowfat dessert–my philosophy is to eat healthy 90% of the time, and when you really want to splurge, go big on flavors (and small on portions)  for maximum satisfaction. I like to fool myself by saying that Muttabak has all the basic food groups: protein, fat, and carbs, but who am I foolin? This is a decadent delight you can imagine the Greek God Dionysus feasting on his plush couch after the grape harvest. Feel free to make it tonight or tomorrow for your New Year’s celebration or to mark any special occasion with oohs and ahs from your guests. Do not, I repeat, do not fear the filo dough–as you see in this video I made with my beloved mother, the technique is a lot easier than you might think! This dessert is reminiscent of the Greek baklava, only you use melted cheese instead of nuts so you must serve it immediately. Enjoy the New Year festivities, and I will be back in 2012 with more Middle Eastern and healthy recipe ideas!  Big boassas to all! (means kisses in Arabic) 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2012 10:34 pm

    My sis instructed me about your web site and the way great it is. She’s right, I am actually impressed with the writing and slick design. It appears to me you’re simply scratching the floor in terms of what you may accomplish, however you’re off to an ideal begin!

    • January 24, 2012 2:34 pm

      Thanks so much Ruth–I do feel like I am scratching the surface, so many ideas, so little time! 🙂 I appreciate you stopping by!

Leave a Reply

