Skip to content

New Beginnings

January 5, 2013

Looking back at 2012, all I can say is it was a challenging year. Seeing people losing their homes during hurricane Sandy, or war erupt again in the Middle East, or innocent children murdered in Sandy Hook really got me down. The one activity that lifts me up during these times is cooking. While I am cooking I can focus on the task at hand, smell the aromas, and get satisfaction from feeding others. I am grateful for the abundance of organic food available to me, and for my family and friends that I get to cook for. Throughout my career and experiences,  I have found that it is the people that I love that ground me, and sharing a meal together is a simple yet beautiful way to connect with others in this world full of turmoil. The reason I started this Feast in the Middle East project in particular was my mother. 

Image

My mother showed so much love for people though her cooking. I wanted to keep her heirloom recipes alive for my children, but also for all of you so you can experience these traditions in your homes in your own way. I will continue to nurture this project in 2013, as my role is also expanding for ifood.tv, who share my vision in keeping this cuisine pure and expanding my audience so more people can enjoy these recipes. Whether you stopped by for a visit because you saw me on Link TV, or read one of my food columns in the newspaper, or checked out my videos on ifood.tv, I appreciate your support so much and hope you stick around to share this journey with me. Cheers to a more peace, and more feasts in 2013!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Elizabeth Hutter permalink
    January 5, 2013 6:25 pm

    Beautiful!
    I’ll toast to that!
    You are a beautiful woman, with a beautiful purpose. Thank for filling us all with it; on the inside with your food and all around us with your generous spirit.

    • January 7, 2013 6:38 pm

      Right back at you Elizabeth–it is people like you that give me hope for the future!! xo

  2. January 5, 2013 9:15 pm

    Blanche, That is a delicious spread of glorious food!

    • January 7, 2013 6:39 pm

      Thanks Susan–the funny thing is, my mother thinks it is never enough lol!

Leave a Reply

