Skip to content

Garlicky Turmeric Rice–The Foundation of My Dishes with Mega Health Benefits!

August 9, 2015

I am not carb phobic, especially when it comes to my rice. For active people (like me) carbohydrates are metabolized by the body and turned into functional, usable energy.  Brown rice is rich in insoluble fiber that can protect against many types of cancer, containing vitamins and minerals like niacin, vitamin A, C and  D,  calcium, fiber, iron, thiamine and riboflavin. In India they use rice topically for skin care remedies, and in China they use rice to cure digestive problems. So while many might experience bloat and indigestion from wheat, they rarely experience the same with rice. Aside from all the health benefits, I just love the flavor and simplicity of rice, providing a pure foundation for all kinds of dishes.  My ancestors subsisted on diets primarily on rice and lived well into their 90s without any diseases, and I hope to follow in their footsteps!  Now there is one particular rice recipe that elicits excitement from everyone that has ever tried it from my family: Garlic Turmeric Rice.
File Aug 09, 8 53 05 PM

My parents literally make a batch of this stuff once a week, to serve next to grilled meats and  veggies, or as a bed for all of their Arabic style stews. I call it crack rice because once you start eating it, you can’t stop!  The rice has a golden yellow color from the turmeric, and is scented with plenty of garlic, shallots, and a hint of butter. Turmeric has countless medicinal properties as well, and I talk about some of the most compelling health benefits of turmeric in this video. This recipe is great for beginners, as you only need a few ingredients and the rice takes only about 30 minutes to make. You can even freeze any leftovers and use the rest for later. Hold on to this recipe because in my next video I will give you a dinner preparation idea for this rice that will knock your kicks off!  Check out my latest video tutorial and drop me a line if you gave this rice a try. 🙂

Grocery List:

Jasmine or Brown Rice

Chicken or Veggie Broth

Garlic

Shallot

Salt

Turmeric

Butter

Olive oil

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

